The original part of the building was a 17th century villa, which was bought in 1909 by Alfredo Ortelli and opened as hotel after some renovation works in 1910. Alfredo was the 13th son of a family from Griante on Lake Como. At the age of 16 years he left Italy to work in Spain, Portugal, Great Britain and Germany. He came back after 6 years and gained new experience working as a restaurant director in Rome and in some restaurants of Lake Maggiore and Lake Como. Alfredo married Agnese Galli in 1890 and they had three sons: Amilcare and Mario who died during the First World War and Umberto who continued the family legacy. The actual dining room and the rooms above it were added in 1926. Alfredo died in 1933 and his son Umberto with wife Eugenia Leoni took over the running of the hotel.
Mario was born in 1933. He studied accounting in Saronno and took a course of "main courante" at the Hotel School in Lausanne. The first garage and the 6 rooms in the middle part of the hotel were added in 1960. Mario got married to Dolores Frank in 1964. Son Franco was born in 1965 and daughter Federica in 1970. In 1967 the main part of the hotel was completed with the new wing.
Franco attended the Hotel School of Lausanne from 1985 till 1989 and worked in Zurich, Geneva, London and New York. Federica, after a degree in pharmacy, is pursuing a scientific career. Franco got married with Melania Valle in 2001. In 2012 Emanuele is born.